Personal Financial Planning (Graduate)
Library Research Guide
Contact Your Librarian
Welcome to the Libraries' Personal Financial Planning guide. If this guide does not have the information and/or guidance you are looking for, please contact Kendra Spahr (kspahr@ksu.edu) directly. You can also contact Research Help services during the library Help Desk hours.
Contact Kendra (kspahr@ksu.edu) if you would like a consultation on
- library resources and services
- starting a literature review for a research proposal
- developing comprehensive searches for evidence synthesis projects
- using Zotero to manage citations
- finding existing research data sets, and more.
- The Library and Your Research Graduate Student WorkshopsThe Library and Your Research is a free workshop series to help graduate students enhance and professionalize their scholarly pursuits. Offered in both the fall and spring semesters, the workshops cover skill sets like how to complete a literature review, copyright and data management.
Find upcoming workshop schedule as well as recordings of past workshops. - National Center for Faculty Development & Diversity (NCFDD)K-State is a proud institutional member of The National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity (NCFDD). The NCFDD is an independent professional development center that is dedicated to helping faculty make successful transitions throughout their careers.
Distance Learners
- Most of our electronic resources are available off campus.
- Interlibrary Services will mail you books from our collection or borrowed from other libraries.
- More information for distance learners.
Quick Tips for Getting Full-Text Articles
Install LibKey Nomad browser extension
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that links you to resources in K-State Libraries collection.
1. Go to libkeynomad.com
2. Download the extension for your browser.
3. Once downloaded, select Kansas State University as your organization.
When LibKey nomad recognizes a citation for something in our collection, the LibKey icon will appear with the option to open/download the source. You may need to prompted to sign in to K-State to access the book or journal article.
Install the Unpaywall browser extension
Unpaywall finds open access content from open access journals, institutional repositories, and disciplinary repositories.
1. Go to https://unpaywall.org/
2. Download the extension for your browser.
When you see the green tab beside a research article, click it to read the full text.
Use Google Scholar to access full-text articles in K-State's databases
Google Scholar is a search engine for scholarly literature. It crawls publishers' websites so you're likely to encounter paywalls for resources that K-State Libraries subscribes to. Identify yourself as a K-State user in Google Scholar's settings to get links to articles for free through the library.
Find the full-text of an article though K-State Libraries
Have a citation, but aren't sure how to find the full-text?
- Use the Libraries Search It tool to search by DOI or article title.
- Use Google Scholar to search for DOI or article title. Be sure to identify yourself as a K-State user.
- Still not sure if the full-text article is available, chat with a librarian.
Full-text article not available through the library? Request a copy through interlibrary loan.
If the full-text of an article isn't available in a K-State subscription, place an interlibrary loan request. Most requests are filled in a day, and this service is free for K-State users.
