Showing 17 Databases
Publication Dates Covered: 1966 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Contains over 120,000 records related to social gerontology, including the biology of aging, the politics of aging, the medicalization of aging, the elderly and their families, aging and the workplace, and aging and the economy. An essential resource for anyone interested in gerontology research.
Publication Dates Covered: 1978 - present; selected 1966-1977 Simultaneous users: 1 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Ageline exclusively focuses upon the population aged 50 and over, containing indexes, abstracts, books, journals, research reports, and consumer guides on the following topics: theories of aging, Social Security, Medicare/Medicaid, marketing to older adults, elder care, Alzheimer’s disease, health care costs and policy, financial and retirement planning, fitness, nutrition, and more.
Publication Dates Covered: 1995 - present Free Resource
This free database contains resources from disciplines related to child care and early education, including research reports, fact sheets and briefs, datasets, instruments and measures, citations for scholarly journal articles and books, grey literature, government documents, and more.
Volume 1 is a collection of more than 2,000 real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and 44,000 first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
Volume 2 follows the progress and setbacks of a diverse clientele with a wide range of presenting issues using multiple therapeutic approaches. These transcripts are from content that was recorded 2012 or after.
Provides a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This series contains more than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals. Within this collection are foundational videos from 1985-2010 which cover the recent history of practices; videos of the founders of theory and the progression of practices to today; videos addressing new population groups, contemporary approaches and issues; and has comprehensive DSM-5® / ICD-10 coverage with built-in assessments to assess comprehension.
Publication Dates Covered: 1966 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Non-K-Staters: use this link
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books on education-related topics. Links to some full-text articles. ERIC also has an excellent thesaurus.
Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Contains videos (formerly in Alexander Street's Nursing Education & video collection) and citations, abstracts, and full-text of nursing and allied health publications. Results can be limited by age group, source type, language, and more.
Responsibilites of healthcare professionals extend beyond addressing just physical examinations and ailments. They must understand, assess and manage mental health issues that often present themselves alongside physical conditions. These training videos provide guidance with issues.
A text multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding. These experiments have far-reaching impacts on fields as diverse as sociology, business, advertising, economics, political science, law, ethics, and the arts.
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Contains citations and abstracts of the world’s literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and related subjects. It includes citations to journal articles from more than 1,900 journal titles, technical reports, and dissertations of psychological relevance from more than 50 countries. Also includes books and book chapters.
Publication Dates Covered: 1871 - present Free Resource
Non K-Staters: use this link
A freely available, online database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, although it is not limited to literature on PTSD among Veterans..
Document types covered include journal articles, books, reports, newsletters, and dissertations.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Sage Research Methods has the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online. It is the ultimate methods library with books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences.
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. Full-text articles are available by using the Get It button.
Search research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
A multimedia resource that combines video—compelling documentaries and client demonstrations—with relevant text content to illustrate the complex and challenging realities practitioners see today..
Search international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Indexes journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Simultaneously search the Korean Journal Database, Medline, the Russian Science Citation Index, the SciELO Citation Index, the Preprint Citation Index,™ ProQuest™ Dissertations & Theses Citation Index, and the Web of Science Core Collection.
