Libraries

LEAD 502 - Developing Scholars Seminar

This guide is for students enrolled in the Developing Scholars seminar as they develop annotated bibliographries in anticipation of publishing or presenting about their research.

Library Research Guide

What is a database?

Library databases are collections of descriptions of research resources such as articles, books, dissertations, and reports. Some databases focus on a specific discipline; others are multi-disciplinary.

Find a Subject Specific Database

Find a subject specific database for your discipline.

  1. Follow the Databases link on the library homepage
  2. Use the Subjects drop-down menu to find your discipline

Databases link on library homepage

All Subjects drop-down menu

Using a Database Thesuarus

  • A small set of terms or phrases describing what the information object is about
  • The terms are controlled. This means that the same term is used for the same concept each time, e.g., females instead of women OR ladies OR girls.
  • These terms can help you find related items quickly.

  • For Eric, ProQuest Nursing and PsycInfo, access the Thesaurus from advanced search screen:

Screenshot of PsycInfo's Advanced search screen showing the link to the thesaurus

  • Search for a term. It is best to use single-word searches. After searching, click entries of interest to learn more.

  • You can conduct searches from the thesaurus by clicking boxes next to terms. Exploding is a quick way to search for a term and all terms below it in the hierarchy

Screenshot of PsycInfo's thesaurus showing the results of a search for the word autism

facebook
twitter
youtube

K-State Libraries

1117 Mid-Campus Drive North, Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-3014 | libhelp@k-state.edu