LEAD 502 - Developing Scholars Seminar

This guide is for students enrolled in the Developing Scholars seminar as they develop annotated bibliographries in anticipation of publishing or presenting about their research.

Library Research Guide

What is an Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliographies
Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides a definition, explanation, and formatting for annotated bibliographies. It focuses primarily on MLA and APA styles.
Annotated Bibliographies
The Writing Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill created this handout that describes the importance of annotated bibliographies for researchers, explains when different types of annotations may be used, and provides examples in APA, MLA, and CBE/CSE styles.
How to write an annotated bibliography
King, J. (2010). How to write an annotated bibliography. Access, 24(4), 34-37.
This article is written for high school students, but provides an excellent overview of the annotated bibliography and includes a worksheet to aid in creating an annotation. Additionally, the author includes rules for the length of the annotation and its components; these are good guidelines but you do not need to follow them exactly. The author uses Harvard style for formatting citations.
Writing an Annotated Bibliography
Librarians at Skidmore College's Lucy Scribner Library developed this tutorial that both explains an annotated bibliography answering the bold faced questions for an article you've found is a good start for creating an annotation.

Sample Annotated Bibliographies

Refer to these annotated bibliographies as you create your own.
Note the similarities: what are common features across all annotated bibliographies?
Note the differences: what is unique to a discipline, an author, or the reason why the bibliography was written?

Citation style: APA, except embedded links to the articles which are for your convenience, but do not adhere to APA style. Citations should also have hanging indents. See Purdue's OWL for proper APA formatting.

Architecture

Urbanova, T. (2009). How to support avian diversity in an urban landscape: A bibliography. Journal of Planning Literature 24(2), 123-136. doi:10.1177/0885412209347155

Business

Brownlie, D. (2007). Towards effective poster presentations: An annotated bibliography. European Journal of Marketing, 41(11), 1245-1283. doi:10.1108/03090560710821161

Kendall, G., Knust, S., Ribeiro, C., & Urrutìa, S. (2010). Scheduling in sports: An annotated bibliography. Computers & Operations Research, 37(1), 1. doi:10.1016/j.cor.2009.05.013

Education

Conte, S. (2015). Learning community literature: Annotated bibliography. New Directions for Student Services, 2015(149), 91-100. doi:10.1002/ss.20120

Newnham-Kanas, C., Gorczynski, P., Morrow, D., & Irwin, J. D. (2009). Annotated bibliography of life coaching and health research. International Journal of Evidence Based Coaching and Mentoring, 7(1), 39-103. doi:10.1.1.556.2042 [In class example].

Engineering

Austbø, B., Løvseth, S. W., & Gundersen, T. (2014). Annotated bibliography—Use of optimization in LNG process design and operation. Computers and Chemical Engineering, 71, 391-414. doi:10.1016/j.compchemeng.2014.09.010

Furman, K., & Sahinidis, N. (2002). A critical review and annotated bibliography for heat exchanger network synthesis in the 20th century doi:10.1021/ie010389e

Mohamed, O. (2006). Progressive collapse of structures: Annotated bibliography and comparison of codes and standards. Journal of Performance of Constructed Facilities 20(4), 418-425. doi:10.1061/(ASCE)0887-3828(2006)20:4(418)

Humanities

Emerson, J. (2010). Mary Lincoln: An annotated bibliography. Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society (1998-), 103(2), 180-235. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/25701283 [in-class example]

Masschelein, A., Meurée, C., Martens, D., Vanasten, S., & Willem, G. (2014). The literary interview: An annotated bibliography. Poetics Today, 35(1-2), 51-116. doi:10.1215/03335372-2646854

Medicine

Siddiqui, F. (2014). Annotated bibliography on participatory consultations to help aid the inclusion of marginalized perspectives in setting policy agendas.International Journal for Equity in Health, 13(1), 124. doi:10.1186/s12939-014-0124-0

Westfall, Matthew Y., Overholser, Linda, Zittleman, Linda, & Westfall, John M. (2015). Cancer survivorship for primary care: Annotated bibliography.Journal of Cancer Policy, 4, 7-12. doi:10.1016/j.jcpo.2015.03.001 [in-class example]

Social Sciences

Nelson, S. L. (2011). The connection between animal abuse and family violence: A selected annotated bibliography. (Bibliography). Animal Law, 17(2), 369-414. Retrieved from http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?abstract_id=2158944

Scott, K. A., & Boocock, S. S. (2007). Sociology. In V. Bowman (Ed.), Scholarly resources for children and childhood studies (pp. 210-238). Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press.