ENGL 355 - Literature for Children

Library Research Guide

Databases: Literary Research

Use these databases to find journal articles, criticism, and information about children's books.

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database
The CLCD is a complete source of information about children’s books, audio recordings, and films. It includes reviews of children’s books and is all full-text searchable. In addition, you can see what awards books have won and read reviews from major publications like Booklist, Horn Book, and Kirkus.
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
MLA International Bibliography
This is the largest and most comprehensive database for literary criticism in all languages. The MLA also covers, to a lesser degree, subjects such as folklore, linguistics, and film studies.
Project Muse
Full-text database of over 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts and social sciences. Publishers include Johns Hopkins and other noted academic publishers. Titles include the most widely held and heavily used core titles. Subject include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, mathematics and others. Older issues can often be accessed through a link to JSTOR.

Databases: Book Reviews

If you are unable to find a review for your book following the instructions for each database below, try:

Searching by title only -- some works were originally published under a nom de plum or no name (Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice was published as "By the author of 'Sense and Sensibility.'"). Early reviews may not be found if you search with the author's name.

American Periodicals
Publication Dates Covered: 1740-1940 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Includes graphic elements and article layouts.

Instructions for using this database to find book reviews:

In the first box type the title of the work of interest inside quotation marks (e.g., "a farewell to arms")
In the second box type the last name of your author (e.g., hemingway)
Enter the date range of interest in the two boxes after the word "From:"
Click Search

JSTOR
Paid for by K-State Libraries
A full-text collection of journals ranging from history to business to literature to science and mathematics. Coverage begins with the first issue of a title, but the most recent three to five years of each title are usually not available. The full article text is searchable. Images are available for searching as well.

Instructions for using this database to find book reviews:

Click the "Advanced Search" link
In the first box type the title of the work of interest inside quotation marks (e.g., "Their eyes were watching God")
In the second box type the last name of your author (e.g., Hurston)
Enter the date range of interest in the "From" and "To" boxes
Click Search

The titles of book reviews in JSTOR are often, but not always preceded with Review:.