Food Science

This research guide features information for students, faculty, and graduates of the Food Science Institute.

Library Research Guide

Suggested Databases

Web of Science Core Collection
Publication Dates Covered: Science 1945 - present; Social Sciences 1956 - present; Arts & Humanities 1975 - present; Emerging Sources: 2015 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Online version of four Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Emerging Sources. Be sure all indexes are selected in the "Editions" pull-down menu above the search boxes. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.
CABI Digital Library
Publication Dates Covered:1920 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The most thorough and extensive source in the applied life sciences, incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health. Other databases available are VetMed Resource, CABI Full Text, Distribution Maps Plant Diseases, CAB ebooks Archive (2008-2010), and Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC). Each database is available through the above CAB Direct link or an individual link found under the corresponding first letter. Over 13 million records are available in CAB Direct.
FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts)
Publication Dates Covered: 1969 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Covers topics relating to every aspect of the food chain including all the major food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Alongside journal articles, FSTA includes trade publications, books, reviews, conference proceedings, reports, and patents.

Wildcards in Web of Science databases
An explanation of wildcards or truncation, such as * or ?, that may be used while searching Web of Science databases.

Other Useful Databases

Google Scholar
Free Resource
Google Scholar is a useful tool for searching through a very broad scope of articles; however, be aware that they aren’t actually all “scholarly.” Look for the text “Get It @ KSU” instead of the usual “Get It” button to search for the full text of articles that don’t have an included PDF. It is sometimes found under the “more” link below the record.
PubMed
Publication Dates Covered: 1950 - present Free Resource
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 21 million citations from Medline and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles.
Scopus
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. Full-text articles are available by using the Get It button.
SciFinderⁿ (CAS)
Publication Dates Covered: 1907 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Click on database title to be taken to the next screen to register for an account and to access the database.
SciFinderⁿ is published by the American Chemical Society and provides access to CAplus, MedLine, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. It includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, parent landscape mapping, touch-screen enable structure drawing. Journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, a substance database, and dissertations are included.
Training resources register for an account
Registration is required to access SciFinderⁿ. Registration is available only to current K-State students, staff and faculty. To register, click the “register for an account” link above. If you need assistance, please Ask A Librarian.
Having trouble accessing SciFinderⁿ after logging in? Try a different browser. If in Chrome, clear the cache from the last few weeks.

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations – K-State Research Exchange (K-REx)
Publication Dates Covered: 2004 - present Free Resource
Full text of theses, dissertations, and reports submitted by K-State graduate students. Papers are typically available by the end of the semester in which the student graduated. Full coverage begins in Fall 2006 for doctoral dissertations and Fall 2007 for masters' papers. Limited availability before 2006.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Publication Dates Covered: 1861 - present; full text varies by school Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes full text for many dissertations written after 1996, including some master’s theses. Copies of dissertations not available in full text in this database may be requested via interlibrary loan and/or purchased as microfilm or as unbound copies from UMI. You can limit the search to K-State dissertations only. Also, this database can be searched in the Web of Science (includes all databases) platform.