In addition to the databases listed on the main guide, you will find the databases listed under the history and primary sources categories to be helpful. Generally speaking, primary sources are created at the time of an event and/or created by a person witnessing it. For example, diaries, letters, newspaper articles, oral histories, maps, photographs, etc.
You may need to use dictionaries or other reference sources to find historical terms. Here are a few examples:
A note on language:
As you are searching historical items, be aware that materials may include images and text reflecting various forms of oppression, including but not limited to offensive language or negative stereotypes. These reflect the attitudes, perspectives and beliefs of those that created and participated in them and should be considered records of the era in which they were produced.
While we want to avoid using offensive or outdated language, it is part of the historical record. Searching using today's terms may not find the primary sources or historical materials we need because the search engines cannot always match today's language with older terminology. [Adapted from work created by Irina Rogova, digital resources archivist; and Kendra Spahr, social sciences librarian]
The search strategies listed on the How to Search tab of this guide work in most databases. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me!
While many education journals use APA format, for historical research Chicago style is often preferred. Don't panic! It's just a different order of listing citation information.
Here are some helpful resources:
Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is the online edition of the standard guide to editorial style and publishing practices. Authors, publishers, and students are able to find answers to particular questions or just browse general categories.
These sites explain researching in an archive:
Archival Research Tutorial
Start here for a great overview from York University Libraries, Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections and University of British Columbia Library, Rare Book and Special Collections.
Getting Started with Research at the National Archives
Focused on the collections at the National Archives, but be sure to check out the section comparing archives and libraries.
Women's History Research in Archives
Created by librarians at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, this guide provides great tips about researching in any archive.
