Military Science and Reserve Officers' Training Corps
Library Research Guide
Welcome!
This page holds information primarily for our students and scholars studying Military Science. In addition to library resources, this guide also highlights service centers dedicated to all of our military connected students, whether active duty, veterans, or family members.
Family members and other non-student military patrons can create a Community Patron account here. More information on Community Patrons can be found here.
Databases
- Military & Government Collection
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Contains nearly 300 full-text periodicals and journals dating back to the beginning of the 20th century. Indexes and abstracts available for 400 additional journals. - America: History & LifePublication Dates Covered: 1964 - present Simultaneous users: 6 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Indexes and abstracts for approximately 1,800 journals in the field of United States and Canadian history. Full-text coverage for more than 280 journals and more than 80 books. Contains citations and links to book and media reviews. Can search by time period. - Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
Publication Dates Covered: 1976 - present Free Resource
This is the official source of bibliographic information for U.S. Government publications. Users can search multiple government databases at once, sorting results by agency, subject, title, or keyword. - CIA (Central Intelligence Agency) World Factbook
Free Resource
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
These links lead to other subject specific database collections with connections to different aspects of Military Science.
Collection Highlights
U and V call numbers are used for military and naval science - these materials are housed on the fourth floor:
U Military science (General)
- UA Armies: Organization, distribution, military situation
- UB Military administration
- UC Maintenance and transportation
- UD Infantry
- UE Cavalry. Armor
- UF Artillery
- UG Military engineering. Air forces
- UH Other services
V Naval science (General)
- VA Navies: Organization, distribution, naval situation
- VB Naval administration
- VC Naval maintenance
- VD Naval seamen
- VE Marines
- VF Naval ordnance
- VG Minor services of navies
- VK Navigation. Merchant marine
- VM Naval architecture. Shipbuilding. Marine engineering
This map shows the fourth floor layout, with the red box indicating approximate ranges for U and V call numbers.
Common Access Card (CaC) Readers
Common Access Cards (CaC) are chip-enabled identification cards for active-duty military, Guard and Reserve members, and Department of Defense employees which provide access to select computer networks and systems when used on enabled computer terminals.
Student requiring access to sensitive information may use check out one of our Common Access Card (CaC) readers from the Hale Library Help Desk on the 2nd floor. These devices for reading military smartcards are also available from in the K-State Military Affiliated Resource Center - Student Union Room 217. These readers require specific software, and the Libraries recommend bringing your own device for this work.
Study and Meeting Space
- Room ReservationsAnyone affiliated with K-State can reserve one of our 18 group collaboration rooms up to four months in advance for up to four hours at a time. Most rooms include a large monitor and HDMI cord to connect to laptops.
