Check our continuation of services webpage for updates related to COVID-19.

Alumni and Community Users

Provides resources and tools that alumni, future K-Staters, and members of our community can use. The focus is on academic, research, and work-based resources.

Library Research Guide

Welcome Alumni and Public Researchers!

painter, farmer, chemists and shining kansas star

Welcome to the Alumni and Community Researchers Library Research Guide! This guide is designed to help you to access research after you leave K-State or even if you've never attended K-State.

If this guide does not have the information you are looking for, don't hesitate to Ask A Librarian for help any time during the Libraries' service hours.

K-State Libraries Privileges for K-State Alumni and Members of the Public

On-Site Access: Yes. Please follow K-State's Face Covering and Physical Distancing guidelines.

Use of Physical Collections (books, journals, maps, etc.) in library: Yes. Our physical collections are open to the public, and we welcome use of our materials.

Borrowing Privileges:

Interlibrary Loan: No.

Computer Access: Yes. In Hale ask at the Hale Library Help Desk on the 2nd floor for sign in assistance. In branch libraries ask at that library's help desk for assistance.

Database Access: Onsite access to most of the Libraries' subscription databases, ebooks, and journals. Off-site access to free databases

Printing: Yes. In Hale ask at the Hale Library Help Desk on the 2nd floor for sign in assistance. In branch libraries ask at that library's help desk for assistance.

Collaboration Rooms in Hale: Anyone may use a collaboration room if it is not reserved by someone. Alumni and members of the public cannot reserve a collaboration room.

Best day to visit Hale Library: Saturdays. While our hours are more limited on Saturdays, far fewer people are in the building and there is more on campus parking available.

Exceptions:

  • The University Archives and Special Collections Reading Room, when finally relocated back in Hale, will typically not be open weekends. See their schedule.
  • Please check our branch library hours before planning a visit to use their collections.

Scanners: Available to anyone for free use. Located on Hale's floors 1-4.

Multifunction Printer/Copier/Scanner machines: Available for anyone to use. Ask at the Hale Library Help Desk on the 2nd floor for sign in assistance.