Biomedical Engineering

Resources and tips for finding information about medical devices and other topics in Biomedical Engineering

Library Research Guide

Device Advice: Comprehensive Regulatory Assistance
A one-stop resource developed to ensure that safe and effective devices reach the market in a timely manner. Includes information about medical device laws, regulations, guidance, and policies.
Medical Device Databases
A list of all FDA Medical Device Databases
Product Classification for Medical Devices
A database of medical device names, their associated classifications, product codes, FDA premarket review organizations, and other regulatory information.
Recently Approved Devices
The FDA's lists of recently approved medical devices includes details about their approved medical uses and situations when they should not be used.

EUDAMED - European Database on Medical Devices
Provides information about medical devices (and related companies) that are made available in the European Union (EU).
Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID)
The FDA's searchable database of device identification information. Includes device identifier on labels, device name, company name, MR safety status, and premarket submission numbers.
Qmed+
An online directory designed to connect professionals in the medical device industry with qualified suppliers, service providers, and consultants.
Thomasnet
Find suppliers or sources of components, equipment, supplies, raw materials and custom manufacturing services in North America. Includes many categories for medical devices.

Medical Device and Diagnostic Industry (MDDI)
Provides news about regulatory updates, compliance guidance
technological innovations and trends, business and marketing strategies, clinical trials, and product reviews.
STAT Medical Devices: News on Development, Regulation, and Use
Covers the development, regulation and use of medical devices. Topics include the safety of medical devices, the challenges of bringing new devices to market and the role of medical devices in the healthcare system.

Business: Insights
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Find company histories, brand information and investment reports, and industry news. Formerly known as Business and Company Resource Center, the user can search for articles, case studies and market reports by company name, Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code, or industry. Some full text available.
Business Source Premier
Publication Dates Covered: 1965 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Business Source Premier offers access to over a thousand full-text journals. It provides researchers access to journals such as Harvard Business Review, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Management Science, Marketing Science, MIS Quarterly, Bloomberg Businessweek, Forbes, Fortune, and many others. The database also includes country reports, company reports, industry profiles, and SWOT analyses.
IBISWorld
Paid for by K-State Libraries
K-State Libraries subscribes to IBISWorld US Industry Reports and US Specialized Industry Reports. The US Industry reports module covers over 700 industries. Reports have statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. The Specialized Industry Reports complement the Industry Reports module and can be useful when researching small or new industries.