Biomedical Engineering
Library Research Guide
Research Guide Description
Welcome to the Libraries' Biomedical Engineering Subject Guide. Use the tabs above or to the left to link to article databases, books, properties data, standards, test methods, patents, and other types of information related to research in your field. Please contact me for individual consultation, group instruction, library purchase recommendations, and suggestions for this guide.
Best Bets
Not sure where to start? These scholarly databases, especially Web of Science, are your Best Bets.
- Web of ScienceSimultaneously search Web of Science's four core indexes (Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Emerging Sources) as well as Medline, the SciELO Citation Index, the Preprint Citation Index,™ and ProQuest™ Dissertations & Theses Citation Index. Use its knowledge of citation networks to trace research developments, follow specific inquiries, and locate primary research articles.
- Scopus
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. Full-text articles are available by using the Get It button. - IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) XplorePublication Dates Covered: varies, generally 1988 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
IEEE Xplore provides access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics published through the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) societies. This resource contains full-text documents from IEEE and IEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, e-books, conference proceedings, and technical standards.
What is Biomedical Engineering?
Bioengineers work with cutting-edge technologies to tackle grand challenges that define the human experience. They advance human health, engineer better medicines, create the tools of innovation and scientific discovery, and harness the power of biological processes to aid our planet.
Source: https://navigate.aimbe.org
Bioengineering applies engineering principles and design concepts to medicine and biology with the intention of improving the overall healthcare of society and particularly the lives of those with medical impairments.
