Biomedical Engineering

Resources and tips for finding information about medical devices and other topics in Biomedical Engineering

Library Research Guide

Research Articles and Literature Reviews

If you are looking for research articles or literature reviews from peer-reviewed journals and other high quality sources, the databases listed below are particularly useful. The list is divided into three sections: databases focused on medical sources, those focused on engineering sources, and those with broad coverage of several disciplines.

Human Medicine

PubMed
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine. It is the primary access point for MEDLINE, the largest bibliographic database in health and medical sciences, updated daily with millions of citations and abstracts from biomedical literature. Its extensive coverage includes crucial topics for biomedical engineering, such as biomedical device development, tissue engineering, biomedical imaging, bioinformatics, and biomaterials.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides easy-to-understand, patient-oriented information about diseases, conditions, and wellness. Use it to gain a better understanding of real-world applications of biomedical engineering for improving patient care and health outcomes.
AccessMedicine
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides the most current editions of full-text books from the McGraw-Hill Medical collection. Contains video tutorials of the human anatomy, patient interviews, and much more. Drug information and patient material are also available. Create a free MyAccess account to ensure ease of off-campus use and access study aids including quizzes and flashcards.

Engineering

IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Xplore
Publication Dates Covered: varies, generally 1988 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
IEEE Xplore provides access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics published through the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) societies. This resource contains full-text documents from IEEE and IEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, e-books, conference proceedings, and technical standards.
Engineering Database
Publication Dates Covered: 1966-current Paid for by K-State Libraries
Part of the suite of databases from ProQuest. Contains engineering-related full-text articles and a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations going back to 1966. It provides titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
Use this full-text collection of all ACM publications to find information on many topics related to biomedical engineering including bioinformatics, computational biology, data-driven approaches in healthcare, machine learning, artificial intelligence, big data analytics, and medical imaging.

Multi-disciplinary

Web of Science
Simultaneously search Web of Science's four core indexes (Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Emerging Sources) as well as Medline, the SciELO Citation Index, the Preprint Citation Index,™ and ProQuest™ Dissertations & Theses Citation Index. Use its knowledge of citation networks to trace research developments, follow specific inquiries, and locate primary research articles.

Scopus
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. Full-text articles are available by using the Get It button.
ProQuest Central
Paid for by K-State Libraries
ProQuest Central brings together many of the most used ProQuest databases. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas (business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion). It includes full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. With our Ebook Central subscription (especially access to Academic Complete and Academic Video Online) users can now search in a comprehensive way that connects text and video.