Biological & Agricultural Engineering
Library Research Guide
Biological & Agricultural Engineering Databases
- ASABE (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers) Technical LibraryPublication Dates Covered: 2001 - present; selected materials before 2001 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes over 1,500 information resources from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers, such as technical papers from meetings and conferences, peer-reviewed journal articles, textbooks, reference books, and standards. - AGRICOLA (AGRICultural Online Access)
This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates Covered: 1970 - present Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Contains citations from the National Agricultural Library. Around 2,500 journals are indexed as well as USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station and extension services documents, conference proceedings, books, theses, and audio-visual materials. All aspects of agriculture are covered. - CABI Digital Library
Publication Dates Covered:1920 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The most thorough and extensive source in the applied life sciences, incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health. Other databases available are VetMed Resource, CABI Full Text, Distribution Maps Plant Diseases, CAB ebooks Archive (2008-2010), and Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC). Each database is available through the above CAB Direct link or an individual link found under the corresponding first letter. Over 13 million records are available in CAB Direct. - ProQuest Research Library
Publication Dates Covered: 1971 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is a good starting point for finding journal articles on almost any topic. Over 150 academic subject areas are covered, and most articles are full-text. Searches can be limited to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. - Scopus
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. Full-text articles are available by using the Get It button.
Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Publication Dates Covered: 1861 - present; full text varies by school Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes full text for many dissertations written after 1996, including some master’s theses. Copies of dissertations not available in full text in this database may be requested via interlibrary loan and/or purchased as microfilm or as unbound copies from UMI. You can limit the search to K-State dissertations only. Also, this database can be searched in the Web of Science (includes all databases) platform. - Dissertations – K-State Research Exchange (K-REx)
Publication Dates Covered: 2004 - present Free Resource
Full text of theses, dissertations, and reports submitted by K-State graduate students. Papers are typically available by the end of the semester in which the student graduated. Full coverage begins in Fall 2006 for doctoral dissertations and Fall 2007 for masters' papers. Limited availability before 2006.
Current Awareness Tools
- ASABE E-mail technical alertThis is available to ASABE members only. However, see the Dues, Categories and Applications page for student, grad student and membership rates.
- CABI Abstracts My Citation AlertsSee the bottom of the linked page. Set up an ID and password within the Web of Science/Web of Knowledge to use this feature.
- Compendex Personal Account AlertsCreate a personal login. Run a search with the terms you want to use for an alert. At the top of the results page is a green box that includes the option to create an alert. Click on that hyperlink to create alert.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science DatabaseIt is easiest to first create a login ID and password.
--Log into My Research.
--See Create alert link below the search box
--Click the link to define your search alert details—including your email address, how often you want to receive the alert, and how you want the alert email formatted. After responding to an email from ProQuest to confirm the email address you provided, your alert is activated. - Web of ScienceSee the bottom of the linked page. Set up an ID and password within the Web of Science/Web of Knowledge to use this feature.
Web Resources
- Agriculture Network Information Center (AgNIC)AgNIC is the Agriculture Network Information Center – a voluntary alliance and partnership of nearly 60 member institutions and organizations working to offer quick and reliable access to quality agricultural information and sources.
- The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineersis an educational and scientific organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems. Agricultural, Food and Biological Engineers develop efficient and environmentally sensitive methods of producing food, fiber, timber, and renewable energy sources for an ever-increasing world population.
- The Center for Hazardous Substance ResearchThe CHSR was established in 1989 and is part of the College of Engineering at Kansas State University. The purpose of the center is to conduct research, education, and service pertaining to environmental topics, where a reputable, neutral organization is needed to develop technically sound, consensus-based solutions for diverse groups of stakeholders.
- Nebraska Tractor Test LaboratoryTractor test reports from 1999 to current date are available in .pdf format from the specific manufacturers.
- Soil Science Society of AmericaSoil Science Society of America (SSSA) is a progressive, international scientific society that fosters the transfer of knowledge and practices to sustain global soils. Based in Madison , WI , and founded in 1936, SSSA is the professional home for 6,000+ members dedicated to advancing the field of soil science. It provides information about soils in relation to crop production, environmental quality, ecosystem sustainability, bioremediation, waste management, recycling, and wise land use.
Subject Guide
Email: livia@ksu.edu
Office: 317 Hale Library
Make an appointment Calendar
