Government Information

US and Kansas goverment statistics, maps, and publications.

Library Research Guide

Defense & The Military

The following databases are good starting points for military and defense research. For a more complete list, try the A-Z databases page.

CIA (Central Intelligence Agency) World Factbook
Free Resource
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Free Resource
The U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security’s Digital Library includes material from Federal, State, international and private sources related to security policy, strategy, and management. Content is primarily current with some historical material. To access the Restricted Collection and take advantage of special options, users must set up an individual HSDL account.
JSTOR
Paid for by K-State Libraries
A full-text collection of journals ranging from history to business to literature to science and mathematics. Coverage begins with the first issue of a title, but the most recent three to five years of each title are usually not available. The full article text is searchable. Images are available for searching as well.
Military & Government Collection
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Contains nearly 300 full-text periodicals and journals dating back to the beginning of the 20th century. Indexes and abstracts available for 400 additional journals.

For a more complete list of agencies, please see the Department of Defense and the Department of Homeland Security.

Defense and Security Agencies

Central Intelligence Agency
An independent agency of the United States government responsible for collecting and coordinating intelligence and counterintelligence activities abroad in the national interest.
Department of Defense
The federal department in charge of safeguarding the national security of the United States.
Department of Homeland Security
Responsible for many areas including counterterrorism, border security, emergency preparedness, immigration, and cybersecurity.
National Security Agency
Responsible for protecting US classified/sensitive information and for intercepting and collecting information from foreign signals.

Branches of the Military

Air Force
A branch of the armed forces that defends the U.S. through control and exploitation of air and space.
Army
A branch of the armed forces that organizes and trains soldiers for land warfare.
Coast Guard
A branch of the armed forces that safeguards the nation's maritime interests and environment.
Marine Corps
A branch of the armed forces trained for air, sea, and land combat.
Navy
A branch of the armed forces that maintains, trains, and equips combat-ready naval forces.

These websites discuss some of the key issues facing the U.S. military.

Key Issues

Targeted Operations Against ISIL Terrorists
Identifies strategies and costs associated with the program.
Force of the Future
Outlines goals and initiatives for the future of the military.
Science and Technology
Details how science and technology are shaping US military efforts.
FY 2017 Budget
Describes how much is being requested for fiscal year 2017. News items, documents, and videos related to this issue are also included.