Children's Literature

Learn how to find children's literature, including award winners.

Library Research Guide

American Library Association Award

Children's Literature Legacy Award (CLLA)

Children's Literature Legacy Award medal

The Children's Literature Legacy Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to children's literature through books that demonstrate integrity and respect for all children's lives and experiences.

2023 Winner

Award winner - James E. Ransome, titles include:

For a complete list of previous winners and honor books (1954-2022), please see the award page. Check Search It to see if we have a specific title.