FASH 245 - Fashion Industry

Find credible sources for you academic research paper.

Library Research Guide

Start with ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is a great place to start. It will have credible sources (news articles, trade publications, and scholarly journals) on most research topics for FASH 245.

ProQuest Central
Paid for by K-State Libraries
ProQuest Central brings together many of the most used ProQuest databases. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas (business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion). It includes full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. With our Ebook Central subscription (especially access to Academic Complete and Academic Video Online) users can now search in a comprehensive way that connects text and video.

Recommended Databases

These databases offer information specific to apparel and textile design and scholarship.

Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates Covered: Indexing 1982 - present; abstracts 1994 - present; select full text 1997 - present Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Addresses “art” in the broadest sense including topics relevant to archaeology, architecture, art history, ceramics, fashion design, graphic arts, interior design, landscape architecture, metalsmithing, photography, sculpture, textiles and more. Includes content from international arts journals, periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Textile Technology Index
Publication Dates Covered: 1944 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Access information about the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing. Includes indexing and abstracting for over 400 periodical titles, and for thousands of titles drawn from sources such as books, conferences, theses, technical reports, and trade literature. Includes subjects such as manufacturing techniques, textile end products, chemicals and dyes, the properties of natural and synthetic fibers and yarns, environmental issues, and the related areas of chemistry, biology, and physics.
Vogue Archive
Publication Dates Covered: 1892 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This database contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. There are options to browse complete issues or search by garment type, designer, brand name, photographer and more.
WGSN: World's Global Style Network
Paid for by K-State Libraries
World's Global Style Network (WGSN) is the world’s leading fashion and style forecaster, providing daily access to images, graphics, forecasting, trend and market analysis, business resources, research on products, and branding. Broad topics covered include fashion, interiors and beauty. WGSN content may be printed but not downloaded.

These databases are helpful in researching information about business and consumer information. In addition to consumer and trade publications, each also contains peer-reviewed, scholarly resources written using the professional terminology of fields in business.

ABI/INFORM Collection
Publication Dates Covered: 1971 - present; for Dateline 1985 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Covers thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

These databases provide information on a variety of research related to sustainability and the relationships between humans and the natural world. Information included in these databases ranges from consumer, to trade and research publications.

GreenFILE
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Non-K-Staters: use this link
GreenFILE resources examine the connection between humans and the environment, from both positive and negative perspectives. 200 scholarly and general interest titles covering agriculture, education, law, health and technology are included.
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context)
Paid for by K-State Libraries
The resources cover topics like food safety, sustainability, healthcare, the impact of economic development on international relations and include news articles, videos, government documents and other primary source materials as well as interactive maps, refereed case studies, multimedia and so on. The information is arranged in 3 sections – issue, organization or country.