Food Science

This research guide features information for students, faculty, and graduates of the Food Science Institute.

Library Research Guide

AACC (American Association of Cereal Chemists) Approved Methods of Analysis
Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is a collection of standard methods of analysis of grains. It explains principles behind a method and how to perform a method better or more quickly. It includes built-in calculators, videos, spreadsheets, co-lab reports, and other aids.
ASABE (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers) Technical Library
Publication Dates Covered: 2001 - present; selected materials before 2001 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes over 1,500 information resources from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers, such as technical papers from meetings and conferences, peer-reviewed journal articles, textbooks, reference books, and standards.
ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Compass
Paid for by K-State Libraries
ASTM Compass provides comprehensive electronic access to all ASTM standards, journals, symposia papers and selected technical papers, data series, and manuals. Access to standards published to organizations outside of ASTM is limited. Covers aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

The database may ask you to agree to terms of a license agreement. Click Agree and Continue.

FDA Bacteriological Analytical Manual (BAM)
The FDA's preferred laboratory procedures for microbiological analyses of foods and cosmetics. AOAC International published previous editions of this manual in a loose-leaf notebook format, and, more recently, on CD-ROM. This online BAM is now available to the public.

Official methods of analysis of AOAC International
Call Number: S587 .O38
ISBN: 10800344
Publication Date: 2019

Codex Alimentarius
International food standards established to protect consumer health and promote fair practices in food trade.
More standards
Our standards guide contains even more information about standards available to you through K-State Libraries.

Food Guidance and Regulation
Contains FDA guidance and regulatory information with links to Federal Register documents; information about food safety programs; manufacturing processes; industry systems; and import/export activities
USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service
The Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) is the public health agency in the U.S. Department of Agriculture responsible for ensuring that the nation's commercial supply of meat, poultry, and egg products is safe, wholesome, and correctly labeled and packaged.
More Government Information
This guide is meant to provide information about our physical government documents collection (includes Kansas and federal) at Kansas State University Libraries as well as online government resources.
USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
It is the major source of food composition data in the United States and provides the foundation for most food composition databases. You may look up the nutrient content of 7,000+ different foods.