To get to databases, go to the Libraries’ home page and click on databases under the search tab. Databases will find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles (and in some cases other materials including book chapters, dissertations, conference presentations, pamphlets and more).
Recommended databases for this class
Multi-Subject databases including:
Academic Search Premier
A broad, multi-subject database. It includes a variety of formats, so be sure to use the limits for scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Web of Science(includes all databases)
A broad, multi-subject database good for searching many topics. Also great for cited reference searching.
Another broad, multi-subject database good for searching many topics. Also great for cited reference searching.
Our Medicine and Health databases and Kinesiology databases, especially:
An international database for sports, sports medicine, physical fitness, physical education, physiology, and medicine.
PubMed is an excellent source for finding up-to-date medical research, provided by the National Library of Medicine, It includes over 21 million citations from Medline and other life science journals
Education and Psychology databases:
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Created by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books
Education Full Text
Includes international range of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks, including some not covered in ERIC.
Search psychology topics. Provides many useful ways to limit your searches and a thesaurus that allows you to search for synonyms and related terms.
How to search
Most databases, although they look different, search in similar ways. You can search the databases in many ways to find relevant research, including:
- If the database has a thesaurus, use it to help you find appropriate subject terms
- Use a keyword search for the specific subject you are interested in (race, professional development, leadership, etc...)
Constructing your search
- Use OR between search terms when you want to find either word, AND when you want both.
- Try truncating keywords using asterisks: ethnograph* to get ethnography or ethnographic.
- Put phrases in quotes: “case study” “grounded theory”
- Use limits to help find the specific kind of article you want. For example, PsycINFO lets you limit by population or type of study (e.g. quantitative or qualitative).
- If you need empirical research articles and are having trouble finding them, try adding the words: “research methods”, data, results, discussion, study (not all of these words will appear in every article, so try using just a few or combining them in different ways.)
- Try adding a keyword for a specific type of methodology -- quantitative, qualitative, ethnography, "case study", etc…
- Look for a limit for professional journal articles or peer-reviewed articles
Here is an example of a search using PsycINFO. The first line searches for "cognit*". The asterisk allows it to be a longer word, so we will get cognitive, cognition, etc. On the second line, aging OR gerontology means that it will find sources with EITHER of those words.
Getting the articles
Many of the articles you find will be available online. If you don’t see the full text on the database you are searching, use the Get It button to see if the full text of the article is available through another source. If you find a citation to something that we don’t own, most of the time we can borrow it from another library. Please allow yourself enough time to do this! It takes up to 2-5 business days for articles and 5-7 business days for books (or longer if you are off campus). Click on “Request an Interlibrary Loan” on the library home page or “Request from Interlibrary Loan” from the Get It menu. For more information, see our Interlibrary Services page.