GEOG 495 - Capstone Seminar in Geography

This guide provides information about databases and journals to aid students enrolled in GEOG 495 locate relevant research materials.

Library Research Guide

Good keywords are essential to good research. Develop a list of keywords before you start searching.

To start the list, ask yourself two questions:

Answer using single words or simple phrases. These become your keywords.

Developing this list is an iterative process. Your list will change as you learn more through your research.

Databases A to Z
K-State Libraries lists over 300 databases. Filter this list by Subject: Geography to see what is offered for your department. Some of the geography databases in Databases A-Z are listed here and used in the examples on this page.

CIA (Central Intelligence Agency) World Factbook
Free Resource
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Google Scholar
Free Resource
Google Scholar is a useful tool for searching through a very broad scope of articles; however, be aware that they aren’t actually all “scholarly.” Look for the text “Get It @ KSU” instead of the usual “Get It” button to search for the full text of articles that don’t have an included PDF. It is sometimes found under the “more” link below the record.
Web of Science (includes all databases)
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Simultaneously search the Korean Journal Database, Medline, the Russian Science Citation Index, the SciELO Citation Index, the Preprint Citation Index,™ ProQuest™ Dissertations & Theses Citation Index, and the Web of Science Core Collection.

Good keywords are essential to good research. Develop a list of keywords before you start searching.

To start the list, ask yourself two questions:

Answer using single words or simple phrases. These become your keywords.

Developing this list is an iterative process. Your list will change as you learn more through your research.