Library Research Guide
Streaming videos can be accessed through a number of ways at K-State Libraries. On this page are descriptions and links to each type of resource. A few important things of note:
Some databases include videos that can be watched right away. There are a variety available including methodology videos for labs, documentaries or even popular films. Databases marked as including videos may also include books, journal articles, and other materials.
See our complete list of databases with videos.
Academic Video Online*-- over 66,000 videos/films across disciplines. Includes documentaries, interviews, newsreels, award-winning films, and more.
JoVE - (journal of visualized experiments) -- access to materials published 2011 - present. Includes videos of detailed experiments in biology, bioengineering, immunology and infection, medicine, and neuroscience.
March of Time* -- restored newsreels shown in movie theaters in the U.S. between 1935 and 1967.
*Academic Video Online and March of Time are two of six video databases that we subscribe to on the Alexander Street Press platform. When looking for instruction about using these databases, information may be listed under Alexander Street Press.
The K-State Libraries' subscriptions to Kanopy, Docuseek, and Swank are accessed from our Databases list.
Include videos from BBC, Criterion Collection, classic films, and documentaries from PBS, Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, First Run Features, Kartemquin Films.
Swank is our primary provider of popular films. Based our contract, Swank films may be viewed for individual study or within a classroom context but they may not be publicized for events outside of an email to an enrolled class.
Where and how you show a streaming video involves different rules and procedures to follow. Below we discuss a couple of possible scenarios.
Watch parties can be accomplished by embedding or linking to our videos in Canvas and scheduling a start time for the film. Everyone in the class will be starting and stopping the film for themselves. Thus far, we have not determined a way for the instructor to control playing the film for the whole class without violating copyright. (If you know of a way, please let us know!)
The discussion can take place using:
Canvas Discussion Board - this is limited to a text-based discussion, and is an option for asynchronous discussions
Zoom - video/audio discussions
Social media or group texting apps
Popular home streaming platforms are not available for institutional access; K-State Libraries cannot subscribe to or otherwise provide access to these platforms. Example platforms include, but are not limited to, Amazon Prime, Apple TV+, Hulu, YouTube.
Films assigned for classes may be accessible for individual students to rent, purchase, stream with a subscription, or stream with ads from one or more of these platforms. Use the following sites to determine how easily and at what cost students can purchase access. A possible, but not proven, guideline is to see how many platforms offer the film. Fewer platforms may indicate increased difficulty accessing the film.
These sites and the streaming platforms are described for informational purposes only; we are not endorsing their subscription for fee-based services. These sites can only indicate where a film/tv show is available that day. They cannot predict or guarantee the film will be available from a specific platform on a future date.
"One Search" option permits users to search by title or creator. Results indicate availability by platform and costs.
Reelgood Default search is for film or tv titles. If searching for a creators (cast and crew) use the same search box and look for a cast/crew link at the top of the search results page.