CMST 250 - Hardware and Network Fundamentals - Salina Campus

This is a Research Guide for students enrolled in CMST 250 through K-state Salina.

Library Research Guide

Databases for A/V and Multimedia Sources

Are you looking for databases that provide sound and video rather than articles. Have a look at the databases listed below to get started. If you find something you might want to use for your project, be sure to consult the A/V Resources and Copyright tab to learn more about copyright, fair use, and creative commons licensing.

American History in Video
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes newsreels, government and commercial films, and significant documentaries on various topics in American History. Contains 2,000 total hours of streaming video content. More than half is contemporaneous video from the 1890s to the 1980s.

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research.

O'Reilly for Higher Education
Paid for by K-State Libraries
O’Reilly for Higher Education is a collection of about 42,000 ebooks and videos, covering topics in computer science, business and management, personal and career development, engineering, software and Web development, drawing and painting, and travel.
Academic Video Online
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to this database. It includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, raw footage and thousands of award-winning films. Further information on films and usage is available.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Find streaming video and audio from public funded broadcasting programs in the United States. This digitization project is a collaboration of Library of Congress and GBH in Boston. While you may not be able to view an entire program due to copyright and/or licensing, you can often access portions such as original interviews.