Computer Science
K-State Libraries provides access to extensive resources important to the study and research of Computer Science. Desktop access is provided whenever possible. Please feel free to ask questions if you need assistance.
Library Research Guide
Standards Available Online at K-State Libraries
- ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) CompassPaid for by K-State Libraries
ASTM Compass provides comprehensive electronic access to all ASTM standards, journals, symposia papers and selected technical papers, data series, and manuals. Access to standards published to organizations outside of ASTM is limited. Covers aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
The database may ask you to agree to terms of a license agreement. Click Agree and Continue. - IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) XplorePublication Dates Covered: varies, generally 1988 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
IEEE Xplore provides access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics published through the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) societies. This resource contains full-text documents from IEEE and IEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, e-books, conference proceedings, and technical standards.
Finding Standards Not Available Electronically Through K-State Libraries
- Finding standards owned by K-State using Search ItK-State owns very few print standards, and the collection has been reviewed to retain only those that are current. Contact the library if you have questions about a given print standard. To search for standards, type either ANSI/XXXX (XXXX being the organization acronym) or just the organization acronym and 'standards' in the search box. Then click Search. It sometimes is possible to search by the name of a specific standard if you know what the name of the standard is. Most standards have a call number starting with T55.A5 and are housed in Hale Library. Some standards, particularly NFPA & construction codes, can be found in Weigel Library in the Reference Sections.
- ASME: American Society of Mechanical EngineersClicking on the link will open a new tab. A title search of "ANSI/ASME Standards" in the K-State Libraries Search It shows a list of the few standards are owned in print by the K-State Libraries. They are at call number T55. A5 ASME, but since the collection is in transition at this time please the Help Desk for assistance to locate a print copy.
- SAE: Society of Automotive EngineersK-State does not have a subscription to these standards. Use this link to find out which standard you may need and contact a librarian at the Help Desk or chat at Ask Us.for assistance.
- International Standards: ISOK-State owns very few international standards. This link takes you to the catalog list of individual ANSI/ISO standards that K-State owns in print. The collection is currently in transition, so to find the physical copy of what K-State Libraries owns please contact the Help Desk. To find the title of a specific ISO standard, go to http://www.iso.org/iso/home/standards.htm
Major Organizations with Standards
Tactics to Find What Standards are Involved With a Given Product
- Think about who has a vested interest in the safety of the product you are concerned about.
- Go to the organizational website. Most websites have a search function that will help you discover what standards exist.
- Look at the packaging for compliance statements: i.e. "Conforms to ASTM D-4236."
- Search keywords in ASTM under the generic term for the item to see what standards apply to it.
- If you have a specific number or title of a standard, check the ANSI standards search or the IHS Markit Standards Store to get more information about a given standard.
Purchasing Standards
K-State Libraries do not purchase single-use standards. This is due to the high cost to obtain, frequency of updates, and licensing restrictions on what can be purchased and shared. Instead, the Libraries do have a select number of standards available through the database subscriptions listed at the top of this page.
Instructors interested in obtaining standards for use in a course should discuss the request early in the process with their respective liaison librarian to research what might be possible. Standard requests for courses will be considered on a case-by-case basis and as the budget allows. The maximum amount per standard for consideration is $150.
