Allied Health Sciences (Graduate Students)

A listing of Library resources and services for graduate students in Allied Healthh programs

Library Research Guide

Where to Find Datasets

If data is a new information resource for you, general information is discussed on the Data - Numeric Resources guide.

If you know what specific information you need, here are some direct links:

Health Data - most of the resources will be from government resources. Nutrition resources are also available on this page.
Spatial (GIS) Data - information about resources concerning spatial information for socioeconomic and environmental conditions.
Demographic Information - this contains primarily cenus resources.

Many grant applications require a Data Management Plan (DMP) to be submitted with the grant proposal. There are a variety of online resources to help in creating a DMP, including this data management guide curated by the Center for the Advancement of Digital Scholarship.

K-State Subscriptions

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Paid for by K-State Libraries The ICPSR data archive houses more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. ICPSR also collaborates with U.S. statistical agencies and foundations on data stewardship and creating thematic data collections.

ICPSR requires the creation of a free personal account using your K-State email to download data and access full site features. If you are on-campus, please use the link above to access ICPSR and create an account. If you are off-campus, please use this link to create your account, then access ICPSR content using the link above.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Paid for by K-State's College of Business Administration register for an account

Accounts must be approved by K-State's College of Business Administration before they can be used to access WRDS.

WRDS is a comprehensive economic and financial data management system intended for graduate and faculty-level research. The data, from various sources, covers multiple disciplines; covers thousands of companies; includes security prices and trading volume, income and balance sheet items, stock market indices, bond prices and interest rates, mutual fund and stock ownership information, options data, and a wide array of macroeconomic time series. International data, marketing and industry reports are also available. The data sets are downloaded and can be manipulated using Excel, SPSS, or SAS.
Statista
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Insights and facts across 600 industries and 50+ countries; includes Consumer Insights. Use as the starting point of your research to get facts and insights on topics that matter, expert research in condensed form, market outlooks, analyzed markets from 150+ countries, daily infographics, visualized global stories, and global consumer survey information.
TDM Studio
Paid for by K-State Libraries NEH Endowment Fund
There are 2 individual products within TDM Studio.
The first product allows the mining and analyzing of text and data from a selection of newspapers including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, and academic dissertations/theses. Visualization tools provide easy ways to manipulate the results. An account, using your K-State email address, must be created to use this database.

To help conduct more in-depth analysis, researchers with coding skills can request a workbench, from their subject librarian, that will allow for the analyzing of data using Python or R. A workbench allows the mining and analyzing of text and data from the Libraries’ ProQuest collections (current and historical newspapers, full-text dissertations and theses, scholarly journals, primary sources, etc.) and personal datasets (open-access content such as institutional repositories, journal articles, social media, blogs, etc.).
Mergent Online
Simultaneous users: 50 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Information found in this database includes financial statements and company histories covering approximately 20,000 U.S. and foreign public companies.