Publication Dates Covered: 1950 - present Free Resource
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 21 million citations from Medline and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
The Cochrane Library is the gold standard for evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. It is a collection of databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Publication Dates Covered: 1973 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Dedicated to public health, over 7,000 journals, reports, books, and conferences are searchable with over 3 million scientific records. Over 100 countries in 50 languages are abstracted with 96% of the records with at least an English abstract and over 90% full text. The database's open serials policy and coverage of international and grey literature means that 40% of the material is unique.
Publication Dates Covered: 1830 - present Simultaneous users: 4 Paid for by K-State Libraries
An international database for sports, sports medicine, physical fitness, physical education, physiology, and medicine. Also provides indexing of the Microform Publications collection of dissertations and theses of the International Institute for Sport and Human Performance.
Publication Dates Covered: Science 1945 - present; Social Sciences 1956 - present; Arts & Humanities 1975 - present; Emerging Sources: 2015 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Online version of four Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Emerging Sources. Be sure all indexes are selected in the "Editions" pull-down menu above the search boxes. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. Full-text articles are available by using the Get It button.
Grey Literature, may also be spelled Gray Literature, is defined by The Fourth International Conference on Grey Literature as "That which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers."
Put simply, Grey Literature is research that is often not indexed in the databases provided by libraries and is often conducted by government agencies, both foreign and domestic, and NGOs (Non-Government Organizations). This information can be difficult to locate but includes valuable research and should be consulted for systematic literature reviews.
Grey Literature is especially dependent on the topic you are researching, so please contact me at clogan@k-state.edu to set up a research consultation if you are having trouble locating information or need help deciding where to start.
