ID 245 - Interior Design Studio 2
Library Research Guide
ID245 Recommended Databases
- Oxford Art Online
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Formerly Grove Art Online, this is the definitive encyclopedia for the arts and design. This portal to Oxford art reference products includes cross-referenced articles and links to art images in galleries and museums. Articles are scholarly and include bibliographic references. This database contains Grove Art Online (the entire text of The Dictionary of Art), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and is continually updated.
Use Oxford Art Online to search for a designer by name, a design movement, specific technique, culture, time period or region. Entries are written by scholars of design and include the vocabulary associated with the field of interior design.
For example, the Grove Art Online entry for Steven Holl references:
- his date of birth
- country of origin
- education
- associated firms
- writings and awards
- primary design interests and philosophies
- architects that influenced his work (linking to the OAO entries for each)
- the phases of his work by decade
- and his notable projects
In the case of a vernacular space such as the Parthenon of Athens, Greece, the Parthenon is referenced in multiple entries:
- Architectural proportion
- Athens
- Entasis
- Greece (ancient)
- Orders (architectural)
- Pediment
- Peristyle
- Public monument
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsPublication Dates Covered: 1934 - present; selectively 1741 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, this database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Article descriptions cover American and international journals from scholarly and popular periodical literature, publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Avery is a core resource for scholarly research in the architecture fields. Does not include the full text of articles. Use the Get It button to connect with the full text.
When you notice a promising article in your list of search results, click on the Get It button to connect with either the full text of the article, or to Interlibrary loan.:
In the case of this article, Get It shows that the full text is available in LexisNexis Academic and you could follow the prompts to find the the article available electronically.:
- Art Full Text
Publication Dates Covered: Indexing 1982 - present; abstracts 1994 - present; select full text 1997 - present Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Addresses “art” in the broadest sense including topics relevant to archaeology, architecture, art history, ceramics, fashion design, graphic arts, interior design, landscape architecture, metalsmithing, photography, sculpture, textiles and more. Includes content from international arts journals, periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Especially helpful for articles on contemporary art and design. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
These databases offer information specific to design history.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Publication Dates Covered: 1975-2007 Free Resource
Provides citations and abstracts from 1975-2007 for articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs, focusing on European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This multilingual database encompasses writings on the visual arts including traditional fine arts (ceramics, drawing, painting, prints, sculpture, etc.), architecture and industrial design, and decorative and applied arts (crafts, folk art, graphic arts, etc.). For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) database. - International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Publication Dates Covered: 2008 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides citations and abstracts for articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs, focusing on European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This bilingual database encompasses writings on the visual arts including traditional fine arts (ceramics, drawing, painting, prints, sculpture, etc.), architecture and industrial design, and decorative and applied arts (crafts, folk art, graphic arts, etc.). For materials published from 1975 through 2007 see the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) database. - JSTOR
Paid for by K-State Libraries
A full-text collection of journals ranging from history to business to literature to science and mathematics. Coverage begins with the first issue of a title, but the most recent three to five years of each title are usually not available. The full article text is searchable. Images are available for searching as well.
- New York Times, Historical
Publication Dates Covered: 1851-2021 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Digitized version of The New York Times since its first issue in 1851. Search the full text of articles to find articles on a wide variety of topics. Full name of the database is ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index. - ProQuest Research Library
Publication Dates Covered: 1971 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is a good starting point for finding journal articles on almost any topic. Over 150 academic subject areas are covered, and most articles are full-text. Searches can be limited to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest Research Library indexes many popular, trade, and research publications on art and design that can offer different views of designers, specific spaces, cultural context, and more.
Get It
The Get It button helps you access the full text of articles. When the Get It button appears next to an article you want, click on it. You may find that we have electronic access in another database, or the print copy available here.
Online?: Yes
If we have access to the full text online you will see a link that reads "Get Full Text Here." Just follow the trail to get to the article.
Online?: No
If the online version is not available, the Get It menu might give you the option to find the print version in one of our library locations through Search It. If the full text is not available at K-State Libraries, you will be given the option to connect to the Interlibrary loan request form.
