ASI 655 - Behavior of Domestic Animals
Library Research Guide
Useful Databases
-
CABI Digital Library
Publication Dates Covered:1920 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The most thorough and extensive source in the applied life sciences, incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health. Other databases available are VetMed Resource, CABI Full Text, Distribution Maps Plant Diseases, CAB ebooks Archive (2008-2010), and Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC). Each database is available through the above CAB Direct link or an individual link found under the corresponding first letter. Over 13 million records are available in CAB Direct. -
Web of Science Core Collection
Publication Dates Covered: Science 1945 - present; Social Sciences 1956 - present; Arts & Humanities 1975 - present; Emerging Sources: 2015 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Online version of four Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Emerging Sources. Be sure all indexes are selected in the "Editions" pull-down menu above the search boxes. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.
Free Databases
You can find these two free databases on the Internet; however, if you are off campus, they will not connect you with all the content K-State pays for unless you access these databases through the K-State Libraries web site. Go to the databases homepage to find them or use the links below.
-
Google ScholarFree Resource
Google Scholar is a useful tool for searching through a very broad scope of articles; however, be aware that they aren’t actually all “scholarly.” Look for the text “Get It @ KSU” instead of the usual “Get It” button to search for the full text of articles that don’t have an included PDF. It is sometimes found under the “more” link below the record.
Google Scholar searches scholarly content rather than everything on the Internet.
-
PubMed
Publication Dates Covered: 1950 - present Free Resource
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 21 million citations from Medline and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles.
Important Animal Behavior Journals
Listed below are the most important animal behavior journals. They are all indexed in either the Web of Science Core Collection or CAB Abstracts. While you may find information about the articles in these two databases, they rarely contain the full text of the article. Instead use Get It or interlibrary loan to access the full text.
| A-E | H-Z |
|---|---|
| Animal Behaviour Animal Cognition Applied Animal Behaviour Science Behavioral Ecology and Sociobiology Behavioral Ecology Behaviour Behavioural Processes The British Journal of Animal Behaviour Ethology Ecology & Evolution Ethology |
Hormones and Behavior Journal of Applied Animal Welfare Science Journal of Comparative Psychology Journal of Ethology Journal of Experimental Psychology: Animal Behavior Processes Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior Journal of Veterinary Behavior: Clinical Applications and Research Learning & Behavior Learning and Motivation Physiology & Behavior |
