Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies
Library Research Guide
Cite Sources
Keep track of the sources you use for your research so you can cite them in your paper and bibliography. It is very important to cite your sources to provide appropriate credit for the ideas of other researchers to avoid plagiarism. You will create a citation whenever you use the words (direct quote) or ideas (paraphrase) from another author. Failing to do so is a violation of the K-State Honor Code.
You may be asked to use a specific format for your citations, like APA or MLA. These are just different ways of organizing the information about your source.
Many databases have a "cite" link on the records that will help you create a citation in the appropriate format, but be sure to proofread - it isn't perfect!
Find more citation tools on our Citations and Bibliographies research guide.
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) is a good resource for more information about citation formats.
MLA Resources
MLA (Modern Language Association) is the most common citation style in the liberal arts and humanities.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) Guide to MLAContent about using MLA formatting and style, including both Works Cited pages and in-text citations.
- MLA Style CenterThe MLA's style guide website. Includes a quick guide, templates, and Ask the MLA.
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016
APA Resources
APA (American Psychological Association) is the most common citation style in the social sciences.
This online citation guide contains resources regarding citing, writing, and formatting papers in APA style.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.
Call Number: At Library Help DeskISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2020
Tutorials
- Basics of APA Style TutorialThis tutorial is designed for those who have no previous knowledge of APA Style®. It shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.
- Purdue Online Writing LabThe Purdue University's online resource for citing, writing, and formatting papers in APA Style.
- Purdue Online Writing Lab - Citing Electronic Sources in APAContent specific to citing all electronic resources in APA style.
Advanced Aids
- APA Style BlogUse the search box to find answers to a variety of APA formatting questions. This is a gold-mine of authoritative advice!
- Sample Student and Professional Papers from the American Psychological Association (PDF)From the American Psychological Association web site on how to write student and professional papers in APA.
