Where to search for articles
Databases will find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles (and in some cases other materials like book chapters, dissertations, conference presentations, pamphlets, and more). You can use the Search It feature on the Libraries' home page to search many sources at once. Click on the Searching and getting materials tab to the left for more information about how to use it.
You might also want to search in individual databases, since Search It does not search them all. To get to databases, go to the Libraries’ home page and click on databases at the bottom of the Search It box.
Almost anything, since FSHS is so interdisciplinary! You may use databases in psychology, health, social services, education, etc. Here are some recommended ones.
Our main psychology database. There are lots of useful limits, including study methodology and population.
Search for materials from a sociological perspective.
Social Services Abstracts
Search research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Includes information on crime trends, prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, police, and sentencing.
• Medicine and health databases can be used to find information on medical research and other health-related topics.
Where to search for books
Use the Search It box on the Libraries' home page to find books and other materials owned by K-State Libraries.
Provides information about items cataloged by libraries throughout the world, including K-State. If K-State doesn't own it, click on the item title to access the Get It link to request through Interlibrary Loan.
Google Book Search
Google books lists almost every book ever published, and in many cases allows you to search through the full text of the book. Books that are not copyrighted may be available in full text, and others may have snippet views. Books that K-State doesn't own can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.