ENGL 200 - Expository Writing II - Salina Campus

This is an Expos II research guide for students enrolled on the Salina Campus. This guide is built around core assignments in the class.

Library Research Guide

Current Issues Databases

Diversity Database Suite
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides a combined search for Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch History which feature newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses; GenderWatch which features historical and current perspectives of gender roles; and Alt-PressWatch which showcases some of the nation’s most respected and cited grassroots publications. Searches can be narrowed to peer-reviewed publications.
GenderWatch
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Look at gender roles through current and historical lenses in more than 230 academic, gray, and popular literature titles.

General Databases

Not quite sure where to start? These general databases are a great place to begin your search as you bein to gather resources for your topic.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Publication Dates Covered: 1980 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is a good starting place for almost any topic. Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Searches can be limited to articles from peer-reviewed (refereed) publications.
Academic Search Premier
Publication Dates Covered: 1975 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
A good place to start searching for almost any topic. It provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Project Muse
Publication Dates Covered: 1995 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Full-text scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Titles include the most widely held and heavily used core titles from noted academic publishers. Subjects include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, mathematics and others.
ProQuest Research Library
Publication Dates Covered: 1971 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is a good starting point for finding journal articles on almost any topic. Over 150 academic subject areas are covered, and most articles are full-text. Searches can be limited to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Scopus
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.

Current Issues Databases

Diversity Database Suite
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides a combined search for Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch History which feature newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses; GenderWatch which features historical and current perspectives of gender roles; and Alt-PressWatch which showcases some of the nation’s most respected and cited grassroots publications. Searches can be narrowed to peer-reviewed publications.
GenderWatch
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Look at gender roles through current and historical lenses in more than 230 academic, gray, and popular literature titles.