Alumni and Community Users

Provides resources and tools that alumni, future K-Staters, and members of our community can use. The focus is on academic, research, and work-based resources.

Library Research Guide

Finding Professional Organizations

Ask colleagues or professionals in your area of interest
Find LinkedIn, resumes, and CVs for professionals in your area of interest. Many researcher or professors have professional organizations listed on their resumes or CVs
Search Google. Use terms such as "professional association" or "professional organization"
Use the directory below

Professional Association Finder
Locate national professional associations by occupation or industry served. This list is maintained by CareerOneStop which is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.

Professional Associations

Look for a professional association that connects you with colleagues and offers benefits that will support your research efforts. These benefits can include:

Subscriptions to professional journals and/or news
Access to database(s)
Continuing education or training
Research or travel grants

Calculate the cost of membership against the cost of the benefits if you had to pay for them individually.

Check if the association offers sliding membership dues based upon salary, the size of the organization that you work for, or how new you are to the profession.

Ask your workplace if they will pay the membership for you.

Research Exchanges

Some professional organizations are committed to the open exchange of ideas and research. This can include sites where they legally post copies of their research articles or data.

Your favorite database may actually be one of these sites.

arXiv
Provides open access to over 900,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. Content is submitted by authors/scientists. Formerly known as the Los Alamos arXIv pre-print/e-print service.

Data Repositories Directory
An extensive collection of open access data repositories, organized by discipline.
re3data.org
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.

Finding Professional Organizations

Ask colleagues or professionals in your area of interest
Find LinkedIn, resumes, and CVs for professionals in your area of interest. Many researcher or professors have professional organizations listed on their resumes or CVs
Search Google. Use terms such as "professional association" or "professional organization"
Use the directory below

Professional Association Finder
Locate national professional associations by occupation or industry served. This list is maintained by CareerOneStop which is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.