Where to Search for Articles
Recommended databases for this class:
Because this class is studying interdisciplinary topics, you may use databases in psychology, education, health, social services, etc.
For an overview of the issue you are studying, try:
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Medicine, health, and alternative medicine topics are covered. Provides access to medical journal and magazine articles, a medical encyclopedia, and dictionary. Directories of medical organizations and drugs are provided along with a health assessment tool. This database is more consumer-focused and less clinical.
Psychology and Social Services Databases:
Our main psychology database. Contains citations and abstracts of books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations and theses, and conference papers and abstracts in psychology, behavioral sciences, and related subjects. The thesaurus is useful for finding search terms. Many search limits are available including type of study and population.
Search international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Indexes journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Social Services Abstracts
Search research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC is one of our two main education databases. It provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
Education Full Text
Our other main education database. While there will be some overlap with ERIC, each will index things not found in the other.
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
This free database contains resources from disciplines related to child care and early education, including research reports, fact sheets and briefs, datasets, instruments and measures, citations for scholarly journal articles and books, grey literature, government documents, and more.
Scopus is a broad database covering many subjects. It is an excellent database for cited reference searching, and allows you to sort by number of times cited.
Web of Science(includes all databases)
Web of Science is a broad database covering many subjects. It is an excellent database for cited reference searching, and allows you to sort by number of times cited.
Medicine and health databases can be used to find information on medical research and other health-related topics.