Innovation and Inspiration: The Campaign for Kansas University

Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies

Welcome!

Women's Studies banner

Welcome to the subject guide for the course, Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies.

Use the tabs on the left to navigate the guide - you'll find information here regarding:

If you need any help along the way, use my contact information on the left side of this page to ask me questions or you can always use the Ask A Librarian service.

Background Information

Before you do any in-depth research, it is always beneficial to consult reference resources about your topic. For this class, K-State Libraries actually has some awesome online encyclopedias and resources. Using these sources is also an excellent way to get a basic understanding of the movement, topic, or group of people you're researching. 

We have some online encyclopedias that focus on diversity or gender and are good places to start. They can be found in Gale Virtual Reference Library database (you can also click on the images below to access the materials):

 

 

           Image of the cover of the Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender. Image links to the online encyclopedia.                         Image of the cover of Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. Image links to the online encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
       
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America

 

 

In addition, we have an excellent database called CQ Researcher. It includes reports on current issues—including social trends—and has a wealth of information including historical background information, pro/con arguments, and bibliographies. Below is an image that shows details of a report about sexual assault on campus - you can click the image to go to the CQ Researcher database.