Children's Literature

Learn how to find children's literature, including award winners.

Library Research Guide

Emporia State University Award (Local Kansas Award)

William Allen White Children's Book Award


Established by Ruth Garver Gagliardo in 1952 and directed by Emporia State University in Emporia, KS, the William Allen White Children's Book Award honors the best books as chosen by Kansas schoolchildren. Named after a prominent Kansas citizen, the award is also meant to promote and encourage reading.

2023 Winners

For a complete list of previous winners (1953-2022), please see the award page. Check Search It to see if we have a specific title.