Children's Literature

Learn how to find children's literature, including award winners.

Library Research Guide

American Library Association Award

The Coretta Scott King Book Award

Black pyramid with a black circle surrounding it. Both are outlined in gold.

The Coretta Scott King Book Award is given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood. 

2024 Winners and Honor Books

2024 Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement: Christopher Paul Curtis

For a complete list of previous winners and honor books (1970-2023), please see the award page. Check Search It to see if we have a specific title.