- Library Home
- Research Guides
- Teaching and Learning with the Libraries
- Digital or ebooks
Teaching and Learning with the Libraries
Library Research Guide
ebooks in Search It
Even though our physical books are not accessible at the moment, we do have access to ebooks. Your librarian can help you locate appropriate titles and provide links you can use in your Canvas courses to make it easier for your students. Here are a couple of methods you can try yourself.
Search It
We know Google is just about everybody's go-to search tool. However if you are looking for ebooks you can point out for your students, consider using Search It. For example, you might like to search for handbooks, which are a good resource for a subject overview and usually offer high quality summaries. If you can find a fairly current handbook, then you have state of the art coverage.
Handbook of Research on TeachingISBN: 0935302476Publication Date: 2016-05-02The chapters, all broad treatments of areas of study, will help readers see how particular areas of research connect with the larger issues of teaching and teacher education.
- Search It - Teaching and EducationA sample advanced search on teaching and education, full text available on line, and published since 2016.
ebooks in Databases
eBooks Tag
We have tagged our database subscriptions that contain ebooks. You can find them all on our databases page by selecting the "eBooks" tag.
- ebooks at K-StateAll the ebook vendors where we have subscriptions.
Recommended Resources
These options are limited to current K-State students, faculty, and staff and require signing in with K-State eID and password.
Learn more about ebooks from K-State Libraries.
- ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies) Humanities E-Book -- over 5,400 titles from scholarly publishers, including new titles and digitized editions.
- Ebook Central -- over 130,000 of titles covering all disciplines and includes materials from university presses.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education -- over 42,000 ebooks and videos. Topics covered include computer science, business/management, engineering, drawing and painting.
- Sage Research Methods -- includes books, videos, "Little Green Book" and Little Blue Book" series. All materials focused on qualitative and quantitative research methods.
ebooks in the Public Domain
Public Domain Options
Titles in the public domain are accessible to anyone:
- Project Gutenberg - One of the oldest efforts to make older literary works, particularly those works no longer under U.S. copyright (pre-1924) available online. Materials available in languages including: English, Chinese, French, German, Spanish. Some audio books available.
- JSTOR Open and Free Content -- Includes access to ebooks from scholarly presses, ejournals, art (on the Artstor platform), and research reports.
